The Daily Post-Crisis

Crisis

Racial tension has risen to critical levels over recent years. Although there has always been racism, it is my personal opinion that the sudden increase has a lot to do with politicians (and of course social media). It’s a sad state of affairs when leaders become so comfortable that racist remarks roll off their tongues without a second thought. I hear a lot of comments in the political arena regarding it being a breath of fresh air when others speak their truth. Why that is acceptable in politics where the negative impact is more far-reaching (and definitely more detrimental), but not in the workplace is beyond me. It seems to me that if it’s not acceptable in the work environment, it couldn’t possibly be beneficial in the political arena. Especially when what comes out of your mouth can impact how I am perceived, and even more importantly how I am treated.

Over the course of my working years I’ve heard more than once that HOW I say something can be far more important than WHAT I say. I can also admit that some of my thoughts (probably more than 50% of them!), should stay in the dark recesses of my mind. Especially when they are not conducive to the environment. I’ve learned that it’s a good idea for me to think before I speak. (I’m even doing a better job not wearing my thoughts on my face, lol!). Is what I want to say true, kind, and more important, necessary? If it DOES need to be said, do I need to be the one to say it? A mentor taught me this important lesson, and it has served me well over the last few years. It can be true in my mind, but sometimes it needs to stay there. Even if it needs to be said, I’ve learned that it might be better letting someone else say it. For me, letting someone ELSE say it is definitely the way to go, lol. I remember a past Supervisor telling me that history only repeats itself. I’ve been thinking a lot about that comment lately, based on what’s going on in society. It’s scary, and I’m so glad that my children are grown. I would not even know how to explain what is going on in the world today. Not only is there chaos, but that chaos has risen to a level of crisis!

10 thoughts on “The Daily Post-Crisis

  1. Sandi Long says:

    That was very good, JT. I feel the same as you; we live in scary times. My parents did during WW2 but I feel today is more subtle and worse. Hugs, Sandi from Clutterbusters

    Like

  2. Ms Brown says:

    Hmm…interesting insight. I don’t think the issue falls solely on the politicians. I think people have heart issues that have been passed from generation to generation. It’s always been there but now people feel free to express their hearts because of social media. People feel safe to express themselves while hidden from those they hurt.

    Like

    • GREAT POINTS! Definitely not all on politicians, and I totally agree with you on people having more courage to express themselves freely on social media, behind closed doors ! I’m still shocked daily by social media posts. I think it’s a lot more dangerous when influential leaders take part in those types of conversations, as they are supposed to represent the voice of the people.

      Like

  3. Mary, thanks for sharing this interview, Skin In The Game with me. I was excited about the open and honest dialog between all parties. I also love the fact that African-Americans were represented so well by Joseph Sojourner and Sam Collier! The comments that touched home the most to me were, “The further we are away from the problem, the more simple it seems”, and “There is COLLECTIVE anger and grief in all situations, not just a focus on the one incident”. I agree with everything said here, especially the comment that the African American community has been in a state of emergency since Civil Rights. (which is why reactions seem overboard to non-minorities). I have personally dealt with several hurtful incidents of racism over the course of my life. Not only in my current work location, but also while in the military. Experiencing it in the military was shocking to me! I was there to serve like others, what did my skin color have to do with anything? I loved the answer to the the question regarding what white people can do in order to try to understand African-Americans better. Walk through life with someone of color. As a mother of two African-American males, I have the same concerns for THEM when being pulled over by the police. My alarm has definitely risen with the recent racial tension, MORE than when they were growing up. I agree with the comment that we are instantly connected as minorities, when something goes awry. This is where the fear currently comes from. As said in the interview, “when one of us lose, we all lose”. It certainly feels that way to me, and I could not have verbalized it as well as they did. Feel free to ask whatever questions you like. I love that you started a dialog with me on this important subject!

    Like

    • Mary says:

      I’m so glad you liked it. We’re just getting started at our church (an affiliate of North Point Ministries in Chattanooga). My first take was that it probably didn’t go deep enough and I wondered how people outside of our church would react to it. My personal favorite was the end where Andy showed how the early church had to deal with so many of these issues during a time when it was unheard of. I never saw it that way though I did pick up that it was radical of Jesus to speak to women in a culture where they were considered property. I love that you invited me to ask questions. I’ll be back with some.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

