Mistake

Mistake

The Daily Post:

I recently read something somewhere that said “don’t allow the fact that you made a mistake, allow you to feel like you have to pay for it for the rest of your life!” It resonated with me because I’ve made mistakes (mainly because I didn’t listen to my higher power as the signs were definitely there when I should have said no, but said yes!) and felt like I didn’t have the right to change my mind. For me, changing my mind felt like I was not honoring my commitment. I really dislike not following through on something I’ve committed too. Yes, I have to admit that I have displayed several of the Type A personality traits in my past. I’m not saying how many of the traits I displayed, the fact that I am coming clean (and display a lot fewer as I age) is enough, lol.

I’ve come to realize, however, that I have every right to remove myself from the presence of toxic people and situations, in order to put my life more in alignment with my goals! I’ve learned to say I’m sorry, REALLY mean it, and move on. I will definitely put 100% effort in everything I attempt.  Once I have done that and realize something still isn’t good for me, I let it go. Sometimes change is only effective when there is more than one person working on an issue. I’m not sure why in the past,  I felt the need to punish myself and stay in bad situations just because I made a mistake. The good news, however, is that I am no longer in that mental place. I’ve decided it’s better not to rush into decisions. I need to learn the lesson, look at the pro’s and con’s of each possible decision, ask for advice from others whose opinions I respect, pray about the final decision, and then listen for the answer.

Once I began to put all of these principles into place, I became a better decision maker!  Although I still make mistakes, they are fewer and far between. A person I really respect shared that I will know when it’s right, because it will be easy! When there are a lot of obstacles to what I want to do, that is a sign that I am heading in the wrong direction! Not sure why it took so many years to figure that out, but the good news is that all of past mistakes just serve to make me a better Life Coach!

I’ve developed The Courage To Shift!

3 thoughts on “Mistake

Leave a Reply

