The Daily Post

Dilemma

I’m a repeat offender when it comes to my weight loss journey. On my last attempt, I finally reached my seventy pound goal. It was also this attempt in which I came across a dilemma unlike any other I’d had in the past. It was a lot more complicated than deciding whether or not to eat my favorite In N Out Double Cheeseburger. I was mentally stranded in a no parking zone and had to decide if I would stay on the side of the road, or if I decided to proceed, which direction to take. I initially waited for just the “right time” to start my weight loss journey…again. I’m not sure why we do that. Sometimes for women, taking care of ourselves becomes contingent upon what’s going on in our lives and if we have time for self-care. AS IF we won’t have any other life drama present itself after we start the process, lol..I had more life drama after I made my goal weight, than any other time in my ten year journey.  Which is why I am grateful I was more prepared and had stuck with the program thus far. My experience paved the way for success.

When my dilemma arose, I was going to school, working two jobs, and had a pretty good weight loss routine going. My child was diagnosed with a serious illness! On my already overloaded plate I had to now add attending care plan meetings, time for support groups and personal research, classes to educate myself, and hospital visits. This wasn’t just your usual dilemma (or the normal excuses I’d previously made that prevented me from reaching my goal)! Since I’d approached this last weight loss attempt differently, I was in a good place.  I’d mentally prepared this time by making several personal commitments at the start . I even had a weight cushion because I’d finally learned not only that weight loss mental, but I was a food addict. That knowledge was the missing link I needed that was key to my success. Once I’d gained back several pounds and hit my UH OH I need to pay attention weight, I had to face the dilemma head on. Would I continue to ignore my own needs and taking care of myself as I had been doing, or would I selfishly add back the ME TIME time needed in order to be successful. I’d give my life for my children, and felt it would be selfish not to continue to put him first.

In the end I remembered the advice given on airplanes in case of an emergency landing. You are directed to put your mask on first, before helping others. Once I put things in perspective, I realized by taking care of myself, I am better able to take care of my son! I’m a better mother, employee, friend, etc, when I make myself a priority. I decided to pull out of the no parking zone, and get back on the road of self-care. It really didn’t matter where I went left or right, as long as I got back on the path. That was 8 years ago, I have no regrets.

 

2 thoughts on “The Daily Post

  1. Your metaphor of an overfilled plate reminds me of a time I used that metaphor when a friend asked me how I was doing. We were at a breakfast; so, it was probably a confusing time for me to pull out that metaphor, but my friend’s answer was very profound. I told him “I have so much food on my plate, I don’t even know where to start” and he said, “The same place you should start any meal…with a prayer”

    Like

Leave a Reply

