Daily Post:Values

The definition of a personal value system is a set of principles or ideals that drive and/or guide your behavior. Your personal value system gives you structure and purpose by helping you determine what is meaningful and important to you. It helps express who you are and what you stand for. One of the many life altering assignments at SWIHA (where I obtained my Transformational Life Coach Certification) was to complete a values survey. The directive was to choose from a long list of values and eventually arrange them in order of the value importance as a guiding principle in my life. I’m excited to share this powerful tool in my own Life Coach practice as it really opened my eyes to personal situations that needed fine tuning, based on my own established value system! Once I had clear values, I could make better decisions in all areas of my life, personal and professional!  I will also make completing a values survey a dating prerequisite, and will save the credit check for later down the line, lol.

My values were:

  1. Freedom-Independence, free choice, to say what’s truly on my mind without being retaliated against
  2. Mature Love-Spiritual and sexual intimacy are both important, but mature love takes care of our partner in life, and in death, especially financially. Love doesn’t pay the bills or keep the lights on. As Tina Turner sang, “What’s love got to do with it!”
  3. Spirituality-a sense of connection to something bigger than myself
  4. Forgiving-There are a lot of positive reasons to forgive, but for me it just boils down to the fact that the person has moved on with their life and could care less that I am upset. It’s simply a waste of time and energy for me, staying stuck in the same place.
  5. Honesty-I really don’t understand why people feel the need to misrepresent who they really are. Dishonesty is another time waster in my opinion, and has to be as stressful for the person telling the lie, as it is for the person receiving it. A person should just say what it is that they want, giving the other person an opportunity to agree or disagree with the idea, no matter how crazy it might sound. Sometimes you can actually find others that will go along with crazy!
2 thoughts on “Daily Post:Values

  1. It seems like every great self-help-related book I read emphasizes the importance of knowing and living by your values. Because of that, one of the big things I’ve been working on lately has been defining my own values. It’s difficult, but I can already feel changes taking place in my life as a result.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agree with you. Once I narrowed down my personal values, I knew what I needed to change in my life. I sure wish I’d known to do this sooner, but it’s never too late to start living your life the way you’d always wanted!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

