Daily Post: Artificial

At times I notice artificial, or insincere congratulatory remarks made while in various social settings. Someone receives a blessing, (usually a relationship or promotion) but the happiness doesn’t quite reach the eyes of the well wisher.  Most of us have experienced the green eyed monster at some point in our lives. I love listening to Dave Ramsey because I always learn something new, and often unexpected. I didn’t realize before taking Financial Peace University that money impacts all areas of my life.  My debt free journey has been a real eye opener, mostly spiritual, which has been a huge blessing. Good things happened as a result of having money, relationships were strained over not having enough money, and sadly, other relationships ended because of money.

On this particular podcast I enjoyed Dave’s explanation of the difference between envy and jealousy. Envy is, “I don’t think I’ll ever have what you have so I don’t want you to have it”, and is also the opposite of gratitude. That was the first moment I understood the relationship between envy and gratitude, and how you can’t have one without the other. That knowledge will be useful the next time I feel that temporary pang of either. While I might not have everything I want, I do have everything I need and more than most. Jealousy is simply, “I want what you have”, but just as sad. Since I’d never considered the difference between them, it was interesting as I took a trip down memory lane and my experiences with both emotions.  I was pleased to arrive at the conclusion that I’ve experienced a lot of growth over the last few years. However, there is still more work to do.

While I find artificial relationships draining so already avoid them at all costs, an even better reason to avoid those emotions is the impact they can both have on the mind, body and spirit. Proverbs 14:30 states, “A tranquil heart makes for a healthy body, but jealousy is like a bone cancer”. It’s definitely something to think about!

 

Leave a Reply

