Daily Post:Tiny

Tiny

Even though I mailed my early ballot off yesterday, I was still of the same mindset in which I had to choose between the lesser of two evils in the current presidential election. I saw my options as choosing between a slow, torturous death with Hillary, or a sudden death as a result of Trump being too quick on the trigger.  For a long while I was very uneasy about the outcome, regardless of how it turned out. However I was recently reminded both in my spiritual community as well as by Dave Ramsey, that changing my outlook on the election  and looking at it realistically can make a difference on my stress level. The truth is that the odds of either presidential candidate improving my life are as tiny as a mustard seed.

The outcome of my future really depends on me. I was giving the election too much control over my life. Even though I listen to Dave Ramsey daily and he’d said this quite a few times, it was a while before I actually HEARD it. A persons’ biggest wealth building tool is their income. The key is not necessarily how much I make, but what I can accomplish when there is no debt eating up my income. It took a while for the message to sink in because I had so much debt I literally couldn’t imagine what life would look like without it. Lack of hope eliminated my ability to daydream, which went right along with the bible passage Dave quotes. Proverbs 13:12 states, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life”.  When there is no hope, and you are constantly surrounded by people that feel like they can’t get ahead, it’s hard to have a positive outlook on life on even imagine what your future COULD look like. The truth is that once my debt was eliminated I had the income to pay for emergencies, take trips, save for retirement, and other priorities.  I’m more confident about my financial future and excited that I don’t have to sit back and rely on the government to take care of me. Financial Peace University changed my life, and it can change yours!

Leave a Reply

