Filthy:Daily Post

Filthy

“I will not let anyone walk through my mind with their dirty feet.” – Mahatma Gandhi.

Even though this quote does not use the word filthy, it is the first thought that came to mind. We become like the people we spend the most time with, so when I did not like the person staring back at me in the mirror I decided I NEEDED to change.  I instinctively knew it would be a requirement to change my environment as well. I had to surround myself with others that elevated my mind and were heading in the same direction. It would increase my likelihood of success and ensure I stayed the course. Left to my own devices, when things got hard I gave up in the past.  I had to surround myself with positive thinkers, not those that lived within the victim mentality (my definition of dirty feet) never even attempting to get ahead because society has set them up for failure. Even worse, because they themselves aren’t aware of anyone that has ever achieved the level of success you are attempting (maybe their companions have dirty feet also),they try to discourage you from even making an attempt. With their dirty feet. My thoughts are, I won’t know unless I give something a try!

Some of my firsts:

1.My son graduated college with no debt of any kind, especially student loans. I didn’t know anyone that had even attempted this goal when we set it, but we were able to accomplish it with hard work, discipline and a plan.

2.I have lost seventy pounds and have kept it off almost ten years. I didn’t know anyone that had lost a significant amount of weight when  I started my fourth and final attempt at weight loss. Of course I found some that had (and more) in support groups! I made sure to wipe off my own dirty feet (negative mindset) before going inside.

3.I became debt free last November, don’t know anyone in my immediate circle that has done it or even cares that I have, lol. I’m quite impressed with myself, however!

4.I started my own Transformational Life Coach Business (The Courage To Shift) with the goal of walking beside other lost souls as they moved from victim to victor. I’d done it and felt so empowered that I decided to help others realize their dreams as well!

5. Last weekend, I wrote my first book! (after telling myself it couldn’t be done in a weekend!). Sometimes we have to correct our own mindset!

safe_image

Please share some of YOUR firsts!  I find being the first of anything very motivational!

8 thoughts on “Filthy:Daily Post

Leave a Reply

