Scorched:Daily Post

Scorched

When the emotional pain finally became too overwhelming to endure, I was provoked into my purpose of becoming debt free. I finally had a strong enough reason motivating me into what I considered drastic action. I had grown accustomed to instant gratification and spending money I didn’t have by way of credit cards.  My son’s illness became my vehicle for success. Only for my children would I set aside my own selfish desires (focusing on needs versus wants), and get comfortable with the uncomfortable. Not only are they worth it, so am I.

277259-quotesonmoney

I knew the hard work that lied ahead on this journey. I’d heard Dave Ramsey refer to it often as living on scorched earth! I still shiver and imagine callers slowing dying inside (as I did) when Dave explains the details.  They need to live on rice and beans, beans and rice, not take vacations, and not see the inside of a restaurant unless they are working there! Even though your mind knows what it needs to do, it sometimes doesn’t sink into your heart until someone else affirms out-loud directly to you that life as you know it, is over. They’ve taken away all of the excuses you could possibly make and left you with cold, hard facts. The good news, however, it that life is not over for good. It’s only placed on pause for the amount of time it takes you to get out of debt, and you have total control of that. The deeper the sacrifice, the faster you will return to life as you know it. However, if you follow the plan as it is laid out, odds are high that you will be a different person by the tine you reach your final destination!

 

4 thoughts on “Scorched:Daily Post

  1. “… The good news, however, it that life is not over for good. It’s only placed on pause for the amount of time it takes you to get out … and you have total control of that…”
    So true and that is the reassuring part. The arid times is not forever, it is for a season and for a good reason. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

