Daily Prompt: Mope

via Daily Prompt: Mope

It wasn’t until my fourth and final weight loss attempt that I understood weight loss is more mental than anything. I had to learn how to solve “LIFE” as it happened, without eating it. I realized the longer I moped around and focused on the problem itself and how it made me FEEL, the more likely I am to stay in that place and eat as a result.

c33ff4d1891e63f4fe68cc5e12001562

I developed a personal rule to control this issue and gave myself 24 hours to mope to my hearts content.  It isn’t realistic (for me) to say it once and get over it. After my allotted time, I had to either accept it or change it. Staying on the fence was no longer an option because I knew the result would be to eat, which solved nothing. The definition of crazy is to continue to do the same thing over and over again, expecting a different result. It was time to leave crazy behind.

As a result, I went on to lose 70 pounds on Weight Watchers (see my before and after photo at http://www.thecouragetoshift.com) and have maintained this loss for over 10 years. I finally understood that I have control over my life and if I don’t like something, I need to either change it or remove myself from the situation. When it comes to people and stress , I learned to set boundaries. If I walk away from a person or situation wanting to eat (or even worse, jump off a bridge!) as a result, I need to minimize my time with you and love you from afar. That’t just how it is, my health is my priority, take it or leave it.

15698003_10210375374212663_6463984260012530383_n

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Mope

  1. Kathy Bewley says:

    One lesson that is hard to learn is: you cannot truly love anyone else until you first love yourself. And that means drawing boundaries, understanding your needs, and giving yourself permission without guilt to do what you need to do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

