Uneven

Uneven

I really love this quote because it speaks of regret, which I now look at differently. I’ve made a lot of mistakes in my fifty years,  like many others (including those that claim perfection). Those mistakes, however, provided important life lessons which I credit for becoming the woman I am today. I needed those lessons in order to grow, including the slaps in the face. The harder the palm to the cheek, the faster I learned (sad, but true!).

quote-regret-is-an-uneven-hand-a-rough-palm-at-the-cheek-tender-and-calloused-lorna-dee-cervantes-71-65-69

An important lesson learned, however, is that I do not need to LIVE in those mistakes just because I made them. Especially when it comes to relationships.  At times I need to leave relationships behind for my own sanity, related or not.  If I am stressed or having negative thoughts (especially about myself) upon walking away from a person or situation (for the majority of those interactions), I need to stop and reflect. Sometimes reality is simply that I can’t be who you want me to be. Also, I can’t expect YOU to treat ME in one way just because it’s how I would treat you. You aren’t me, and vice versa.

At times conflicted souls still refuse to walk away when they aren’t happy with who I am. They would rather stay and complain.  That must be where the saying comes from, “have your cake and eat it too”. I’ve had that experience a time or two. It took growth to understand that I didn’t have to leave the decision up to them. THAT was an epiphany! Someone asked me WHY the decision had to be up to them? I didn’t have an answer and that thought had never crossed my mind! WOW!

uneven4

I now choose to take the message from the mess and move on rather than becoming a martyr! In fact, I love that quote so much that I’ve  added it to my list of 2017 New Year Resolutions!

15284130_10210092833149313_9003291300269767230_n

Leave a Reply

