Daily Post

Craft

I was introduced to vision boards last year during my Life Coach certification process at the Southwest Institute of the Healing Arts. I’d heard of vision boards previously, but never completed my own research and as such was unaware of the magnitude of their power.  I’m a skeptic of things I can’t see with my own eyes, and easy to comprehend research is required to change my opinion. The good news is that I have an open mind, and have willingly changed my stance on several fixed ideas simply because they were supported by evidence that made sense.

Once I moved over from the dark side and became a believer, I quickly took action and passionately created a vision board that laid out a blueprint of both personal and professional goals. A side benefit for me is that it also serves as an anchor, reminding me of my WHY as I hit potholes, landmines and what seems like dead ends while engaged in the vicious battle to reach my goals. Its sacred space is on my bedroom wall, strategically placed so that I can experience its influence (and beauty) from wherever I am positioned. It’s creation was truly like having a craft day with God!

10012535_10153532010484232_7967484174442286147_n

Attached is research received from the Southwest Institute of the Healing Arts, as well as from the Huffington Post on the benefit of creating a vision board to encourage success.


SWIHA:”Vision boards serve the role of programming the RAS (Reticular Activating System) to tune into external Stimuli that can help us move closer towards our intentions. A simple way to conceptualize the The RAS is to think of it like a radio. You are surrounded by radio waves from various stations and your portable radio can pick up those channels, but only one at a time. You have to tune your radio to a specific frequency of your favorite radio station in order to receive it properly and must tune into what you want and desire”. The RAS can’t distinguish between a real event or a created reality so we can take advantage of this fact by programming our brain to seek out stimuli in our environment that resonate with our goals. The process of creating a vision board is one of the best ways to program the RAS to pay attention to certain things in your environment that are in frequency with your goal or vision, in much the same way as you are able to pick up your name being mentioned in a conversation on the other side of a room while talking to others.”


I loved the HP suggestion of making how I want to “FEEL” a priority, not just on material goals and will make minor tweaks to update my current vision board!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/elizabeth-rider/the-scientific-reason-why_b_6392274.html

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Daily Post

Leave a Reply

