Reconciliation

Another viewpoint!

LazyHaze

statue-of-liberty-79931_1920

It was hard. Where I’m from, America is the shining city on the hill. The land of the free. The frontier of liberalism and innovation. When my parents asked me to take American citizenship, I remember mulling over it for a long time. I love India. Is it not a betrayal to choose another nation? Then, I read the declaration of independence. I had never read a piece of writing that better reconciled itself to my own dream. Would it not be wonderful to live in a world where all men are created equal. I fell deeply in love with the great American story and I wanted to be a part of it. Whatever guilt and doubt I felt, perished in the wake of these words from a wise man ‘Vasudhaika Kutumbam – The whole world is one family’. Whether I’m part of the Indian story or the American, they are inseparable pieces of the same…

View original post 308 more words

2 thoughts on “Reconciliation

Leave a Reply

