Daily Post

Immerse

As I proudly approach another milestone, celebrating 12 years of maintenance at my 70 pound weight loss in May, I am questioned more frequently about my secret. Each time I’m questioned I experience a thrill, feeling like an undercover agent of the C.I.A. I imagine this top-secret info was leaked only to me and that I’ve somehow managed to keep the classified info closely guarded in a vault behind a huge metal door for over a century. Truth be told, I’m not sure I can keep a secret that long and I’d be more excited about having the winning lotto numbers! I’ve yet to come up with the perfect combination of numbers based on precious memories from my past.

534034_169780159812402_777063719_n

Maintaining my weight definitely takes work, and has been possible simply because ego is not involved. Ego would (and did for many years) have me believe that I can lose weight and keep it off all on my own. Reality is a brutal but wise instructor and a constant reminder that if I could do it alone, it would have already happened. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing repeatedly, expecting a different result. I’d been a willing participant of weight loss insanity for many years. I know that calories in versus calories out is the common denominator in all weight loss programs. The fact that I have to burn off more calories than I eat is the indisputable head knowledge.

1175726_10151843952058221_663228857_n

However, weight loss for me is more mental than anything else. I focus continually on my mental state as it can fluctuate based on my daily interaction with crazy. Not only do I continue to prioritize my weekly support group fifteen years later (like I prioritize my job) because I am a food addict, I’m also on speed-dial with other serious maintainers to help me survive life (without eating it) between the weekly meetings. It’s easy to stay motivated during the meeting but when the it ends I have to go out into the real world and adapt to people and situations that couldn’t care less and sometimes even resent my long-term goals. I also constantly educate myself by reading magazines and articles on the topics of health, fitness and weight loss. The secret for my success, which really isn’t a secret at all, is that I immersed myself in the process

10 thoughts on “Daily Post

Leave a Reply

